Energy Transition Act FBSPRINGFIELD – A plan to revamp Illinois’ energy industry and put the state on track to renewable electricity production has passed the General Assembly with support from State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines), who said the groundbreaking legislation makes Illinois a national leader on fighting climate change while empowering current and future employees in the energy industry.

“Climate change threatens our health, our homes and our way of life. For the sake of our children’s and grandchildren’s futures, we need bold strokes,” Murphy said. “This landmark plan makes historic investments in local jobs and homegrown renewable energy generation to put Illinois at the forefront of the green energy movement.”

The historic plan would set Illinois on a path toward 50% renewable energy by 2040 and 100% renewable energy by 2050. New workforce training programs would help prepare current power plant employees for long-term, good-paying careers in the green energy industry.

The comprehensive measure also would create a number of safeguards for Illinois’ energy consumers, helping lower costs and increase utility company accountability. For example, it would formally empower the Illinois Commerce Commission to investigate ComEd – and any other utility companies found guilty of criminal behavior – and impose penalties that could include returning money to customers. It also would ban the practice of charging “convenience fees” for customers who prefer to pay using debit or credit cards rather than enrolling in auto-pay or direct bank transfers.

“It’s time to put people—not utility companies—first,” Murphy said. “Illinois is showing the rest of the nation what’s possible when it comes to climate action and clean energy.”

Senate Bill 2408 now awaits the governor’s signature.

Energy Transition Act FBSPRINGFIELD – Illinoisans could soon be able to count on clean and reliable energy to power their homes under Senate Bill 18, also known as the Energy Transition Act, a plan State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) says will put the state at the forefront of the nationwide race toward renewable electricity production:

“The Energy Transition Act represents not only the largest investment in renewable energy in Illinois history, but also the most innovative clean energy agreement in the nation.

“We’re taking bold steps to decarbonize our energy sector by 2050 in a way that protects and creates jobs, divesting from imported power from other states and investing in homegrown renewable energy every Illinoisan can depend on.

“This plan puts the people of Illinois above corporate interests, laying the foundation for thousands of good-paying jobs, long-term economic development, and a brighter, healthier, more equitable future for our children and grandchildren.”

Property taxSPRINGFIELD – Older Illinois homeowners can expect an increase in property tax relief under a law sponsored by State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) raising the maximum income limitation and deferral amount for the Senior Citizens Real Estate Tax Deferral program.

“Especially for residents on fixed incomes, property taxes can be a heavy financial burden,” Murphy said. “This law expands a key program offering substantial relief to older homeowners, allowing more retirees to stay in their homes and in the state.”

Through tax year 2025, the law raises the maximum income limitation for the Senior Citizens Real Estate Tax Deferral program from $55,000 to $65,000. It also increases the maximum deferral amount from $5,000 to $7,500.

The Senior Citizens Real Estate Tax Deferral program allows qualifying Illinoisans age 65 and older to defer all or part of their property tax and special assessment payments on their principal residences.

The legislation was sponsored in the House by State Representative Debbie Meyers-Martin (D-Olympia Fields).

“This legislation expands the eligibility for fixed-income seniors to help them pay their property taxes,” Meyers-Martin said. “It is important that we pass this legislation to help provide some property tax relief to our seniors and keep them in their homes.”

The law, originally Senate Bill 2244, was signed into law Friday.

Des Plaines Public LibraryDES PLAINES – Communities across the Northwest Suburbs will be able to enjoy expanded services at their local libraries thanks to more than $360,000 in grants, State Senator Laura Murphy (D-Des Plaines) announced Thursday.

“Kids who read, succeed. Local libraries are a major contributor to literacy in our neighborhoods,” Murphy said. “With the school year starting back up, the resources libraries offer—computers, meeting spaces and helpful librarians—will be in even greater demand.”

Four libraries in the 28th District will receive a combined $361,075.58, part of $18.1 million in grants awarded to 638 public libraries across the state. For more than 40 years, the Illinois Public Library Per Capita and Equalization Aid Grants Program has helped public libraries with a low library tax base to ensure a minimum level of funding for library services.

Libraries will use the grants from the secretary of state’s office to help fund new services and products, such as audiobooks, adult programming, dual language materials and more. 

“Our community is brighter and stronger thanks to our libraries,” Murphy said. “This funding will help support the work they do every day to educate and inspire.”

The following libraries in the district Murphy represents will receive funds:

  • Des Plaines Public Library, $86,086.90
  • Elk Grove Village Public Library, $32,603.40
  • Park Ridge Public Library, $55,283
  • Schaumburg Township District Library, $187,102.28

For more information on the grants, people can visit the secretary of state’s website.

summer book club

Constituent Survey

COVID-19 Resources

COVID19 Updates

Follow Sen. Murphy


Find Your Legislator

O'Hare Air Traffic Complaint Form

eNewsletter Signup

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Office Info

Springfield Office:
108E Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-3875

District Office:

1645 South River Road, Suite 7
Des Plaines, Illinois 60018
 (847) 718-1110